Meet Our Experts

The Clean Energy Leadership Institute boasts a Professionals Network of leaders who posses a broad range of policy, finance, technology, and communications expertise. Our experts are well-respected thought-leaders, entrepreneurs, policymakers, and trailblazers, and they all share a passion for training and developing the next generation of clean energy leaders.

Our Professionals lend their expertise and institutional knowledge during our 14-week program, helping Fellows develop a greater understanding of complex energy market and policy principles and unlock new opportunities for career advancement.

Interested in joining our Professional Network, or know someone you think would be a great fit? Please email Jackie Weidman ( for inquires and suggestions.

Alla Jezmir
Director, CCM Energy

Alex Trembath
Director of Communications, The Breakthrough Institute

Alex Portilla
Project Manager, Emerging Grid Technologies, PG&E

Alicia Seiger
Deputy Director, Steyer-Taylor Center, Stanford

Andrea Luecke
President, The Solar Foundation (TSF)

Andrew Gilligan
Director of Investments, Sol Systems

Andrew Light
Special Envoy on Climate Change, Department of State

Andrew Holland
Senior Fellow for Energy & Environment, American Security Project

Anya Schoolman
Executive Director, Community Power Network

Arlene Fetizanan
Science & Technology Fellow, Office of Weatherization & Intergovernmental Programs, EERE, DOE

Austin Brown
Assistant Director for Clean Energy and Transportation, Executive Office of Science and Technology Policy

Bracken Hendricks
President & CEO, Urban Ingenuity

Brian Lantz
Director, Global Capital Markets & Structured Finance, SunEdison

Chase Huntley
Renewable Energy Director, The Wilderness Society

Chris Cook
President, Solar Grid Storage, LLC

Cliff Rechtstaffen
Commissioner, CA Public Utility Commission

Constantine Samaras
Engineer and Professor, Pardee RAND Graduate School

David Gardiner
Principle, President, David Gardiner & Associates

Danny Abajian
Vice President of Project Finance, Sunrun

Danny Kennedy 

Managing Director, CalCEF

Dave Hamilton
Director, Beyond Coal Campaign, Sierra Club

Devin Hartman
Energy Industry Analyst, FERC

Eli Levine
Deputy Director, Clean Energy Manufacturing Initiative (CEMI), DOE

Elias Hinckley
Attorney, Sullivan and Worcester, LLP

Emily Kirsch
Founder & CEO, Powerhouse

Heidi VanGenderen
Director of Public Engagement, Office of Congressional & Intergovernmental Affairs, DOE

Jamie Nolan
Communications Consultant, SunShot Initiative, DOE

Jeff Genzer
Partner, Duncan, Weinber, Genzer, & Pembroke P.C.

Jennifer Garson
Tech to Market Analyst, Commercialization Program, DOE

Jesse Jenkins
Researcher, Analyst, and Writer; Former Director of Energy and Climate Policy, Breakthrough Institute

Jill Pike 
Vice President,  Strategic Communications Division, The Glover Park Group

Jonathan Silver
CEO, Greenbanc Global; Managing Director, Tax Equity Advisors LLC; former Director, Energy Loan Program, DOE

Julian Spector
Staff Writer, Greentech Media

Kathryn Zyla
Director of Research and Policy Analysis, Georgetown Climate Center

Kate Gordon
Vice Chair, Climate and Sustainable Urbanization, The Paulson Institute

Katie Hantson
Renewable Energy Analyst, Marine Corps Expeditionary Energy Office

Kimble McCraw
Senior Analyst, FI Consulting

Kiley Kroh
Senior Editor, ThinkProgress, Center for American Progress

Michael Williams
Vice President for Strategic Development, BlueGreen Alliance Foundation

John Kinney
CEO, CleanFund

Jon Powers
CEO & Co-Founder, CleanCapital

Joyce Ferris
Chief Financial Officer, Nextility

Julia Hamm
President, Smart Electric Power Alliance (SEPA)

Justin Guay
Program Officer, Packard Foundation

Katherine Hamilton
Principle, 38 North Solutions, LLC

Ken Stadlin
President, Kenergy

Laurie Vaudreuil
Co-founder, Mosaic Power

Lauren Craft
Manager, Project Development, SunEdison

Lauren Glickman
Founder and Principal of WINDYGLICK (@WindyGlick)

Leigh-Golding DeSantis
Director of Operations, SparkFund

Dr. Levi Tillemann-Dick
Jef & Cal Leonard Fellow, New America

Malcolm Woolf
Senior Vice President, Policy & Government Affairs, Advanced Energy Economy (AEE)

Mark Muro
Senior Fellow, Brookings Institution

Mari Hernandez
Deputy Director, Policy & Electricity Markets, Solar City

Mary Rottman
Principal, Rottman Associates

Melanie Hart
Director, China Policy, Center for American Progress

Mike Healy
Director of Market Development and Government Affairs, Nextility

Mike Jerue
Founder & CEO, JuiceCar

Mike Volpe
Sales Director, SunEdison

Nicole Steele
Executive Director, GRID Alternatives

Omar Saddeh
Consultant, Accenture

Owen Sanford
Deputy Director, Market Development, Tesla

Pamela Cargill
Principal, Chaolysti

Patrick Von Bargen
Principle, 38 North Solutions, LLC

Pete Ogden
Senior Fellow, Center for American Progress

Rachel Peterson
Chief of Staff, Commissioner Randolph, CA Public Utility Commission


Ravi Mikkelson
Founder, Enerwise


Reuben Sarkar

Deputy Assistant Secretary for Transportation at U.S. Department of Energy


Richard Ballard
Plug-In Electric Vehicle Program, Department of Defense

Richard Caperton
Director of National Policy and Partnerships, Oracle

Richard Meyer
Energy Analyst, American Gas Association

Richard Walsh
Program Lead, Clean Energy Solutions, WGL Energy

Rick Umoff
Counsel and Regulatory Affairs Manager, Solar Energy Industries Association (SEIA)

Rob Day
Partner, Black Coral Capital

Sam Arons
Senior Lead, Energy & Infrastructure, Google

Sandra Lee
Advisor to the CEO, NRG Home

Scott Baker
Sr Business Solutions Engineer, PJM Interconnection

Scott Jacobs
CEO, Generate Capital

Scott Sklar
President, The Stella Group, Ltd.

Scott Thomasson
Program Director, New Markets, Vote Solar

Sean Casten
CEO, Recycled Energy Development, LLC

Sebastien Lounis
Co-Founder & VP Communications, Cyclotron Road

Sharon Burke
Senior Advisor, New America; former Assistant Secretary of Defense for Operational Energy

Silvio Marcacci
Principal, Marcacci Communications

Sonia Aggarwal
Vice President, Energy Innovation

Steve Weissman
Senior Policy Advisor, Center for Sustainable Energy

Stephen Lacey
Editor-in-Chief, Greentech Media

Tim Judson
Executive Director, Nuclear Information & Resource Service

Varun Mehra
PhD Candidate, MIT; Former DOE Scholar, Technology-to-Market, ARPA-E, DOE

Whit Fulton
CEO, ConnectDer

Yongyong Ji
China Expert, GTM; Manager, NEXTracker



For information about our expert community, or about how to join, please contact Courtney Hinkle.


Join Our Newsletter